Alberta Water Council Board of Directors

The Alberta Water Council is comprised of 24 Members organized into four sector groups - Industry, Non-Government Organizations, Government, and the Government of Alberta and Provincial Authorities. Each Member represents a discrete sector and identifies a director and, if they wish, an alternate to represent their interests on the board of directors. The Members from each sector group select a representative for the executive committee (vice-president), and the members of the executive committee select a president from its ranks.


Sector Member(s) Director Alternate
Chemical and Petrochemical Canadian Fuels Association; Chemistry Industry Association of Canada Rob Hoffman  Greg Moffatt
Irrigation Alberta Irrigation Districts Association Margo Jarvis Redelback Richard Phillips
Cropping Crop Sector Working Group   Nevin Rosaasen
Mining Alberta Chamber of Resources James Guthrie Chris Fordham
Oil & Gas Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers Deanna Cottrell Tara Payment
Forestry Alberta Forest Products Association Keith Murray (Vice-President) Dan Moore
Livestock Intensive Livestock Working Group Jason Hale Rawnald Axelson
Power Generation TransAlta, ATCO, Capital Power Jim Hackett Ahmed Idriss

Non-Government Organizations

Sector Member(s) Director Alternate
Environmental Alberta Wilderness Association Brian Deheer Bob Cameron
Environmental Environmental Law Centre Jason Unger  
Environmental Water Conservation Trust of Canada Maureen Bell  
Wetlands Conservation Ducks Unlimited Canada Tracy Scott  Alain Richard
Fisheries Habitat Conservation Fish Habitat Conservation Collective Silvia D’Amelio  
Lake Environment Conservation Alberta Lake Management Society Jay White (Vice-President) Steph Neufeld
Watershed Planning and Advisory Councils Alberta WPACs  Morris Nesdole Steve Meadows


Sector Member(s) Director Alternate
Large Urban Cities of Edmonton and Calgary   Nancy Stalker
Small Urban Alberta Urban Municipalities Association Tanya Thorn (Vice-President) Che-Wei Chung
Rural Rural Municipalities of Alberta Paul McLauchlin Tom Burton
Métis Settlements Métis Settlements General Council Darren Calliou  

Government of Alberta and Provincial Authorities

Sector Member(s) Director Alternate
Alberta Agriculture and Forestry Alberta Agriculture and Forestry  John Conrad Jamie Wuite
Alberta Environment and Parks Alberta Environment and Parks Bev Yee (President) Tom Davis
Alberta Health Alberta Health   Merry Turtiak
Science and Research Alberta Innovates - Clean Energy Brett Purdy Mark Donner